Walk For Animals: A Weekend Recap

Hello! I hope everyone’s had a fabulous weekend!

Yesterday, I went to my very first Walk For Animals. I walked a 3-mile loop around the city where I live with a bunch of other vegan people. We held up pro-veganism signs with cute farm animals on them and handed out flyers and recipes. It was an interesting, but cool (figuratively and literally!) experience! We got a lot of positive feedback, which was great. It was also very nice to meet other vegans in my community, including some other teens!

10686851_789229701115680_782154477610850338_n

The “VegTeens”, including myself (pink coat and blue leggings), led the 3 mile walk!

After the walk, we all had a vegan potluck with delicious vegan food. It was nice! And they had jackfruit pulled “pork”, which I love!!! Recipe here.

So anyways, that was my weekend. I also helped host a neighborhood get-together (and served these), babysat, and saw the musical “Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat”, which was fun!

How was your weekend?

Basically the point of this post is to share that I went to a vegan walk and to point out that there are tons of vegan events you can go to if you are interested about veganism, like the walk that I went to. Also, almost every town has a vegan meet-up group and other vegans that you can get involved with. There are a ton of sources like books, magazines, movies, and documentaries that you can watch to learn more about veganism too! Another resource you should take full advantage of if you like to eat is this handy website that tells you vegan-friendly restaurants in your area!

I also wanted to share this doodle that I, well, doodled:

100_2914

The basics of veganism: what NOT to eat

Enjoy! I’ll be posting some new/ favorite recipes later this week so stay tuned!

xx Ellie

Leave a Reply

