Adventures in Vegan Crêpe Making

Today is a good day for crêpes. But what day isn’t a good day for eating French pastries!?

I had never made a crêpe until two days ago. All that changed when my French teacher wanted me to try out the crêpe maker that she bought for our high school French club. The crêpe maker was pretty easy to use and took no time at all which was nice! It meant more crêpes could be made in less time!

I made vegan crêpes (of course) based off a recipe I found on the internet. It worked well! Today I am excited to go to the French club meeting after school where everyone will be enjoying crêpes made from the same crêpe maker I got to try out on Tuesday!

100_3107

Vegan Crêpes

based off this recipe

(I made 10)

  • 1 and ½ cups whole wheat flour
  • 3 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 and ½ cups nondairy milk (I used unsweetened almond)
  • 1 tablespoon canola oil

Mix all the dry ingredients together. Then add in the wet ingredients. Whisk together. Plug in your crêpe maker and follow the maker’s instructions. I used a Cucina Pro immersion crêpe maker.

I spread batter onto the baking plate, then let it cook until the machine’s light turned off which meant the crêpe was done and ready to eat.

Then I flipped the crêpe maker upside down and the crêpe just fell off onto the plate I’d placed below it! I topped my crêpes with homemade strawberry jam, peanut butter, and homemade chocolate sauce (nondairy milk + chocolate chips). Any variety of toppings can be used! Examples of yummy toppings include, but are not limited to…

  • peanut butter or another nut butter
  • chocolate chips/ cacao nibs
  • jam
  • vegan butter
  • vegan Nutella
  • bananas
  • strawberries or another type of berries
  • powdered sugar
  • nuts
  • maple syrup

I put the extra crêpes in the fridge, where they’ll last for a few days. Heat them up before devouring ’em!

100_3118

Neapolitan crêpe!

xx Ellie

Leave a Reply

