Snickers Cupcakes

Hey!

I am so excited! I think I might have an idea of what I want to do when I grow up! Two words: food science. I talked with two awesome people (shout out to Laura and Chris!) who both have jobs that have to do with food science. Their jobs sound amazing! As they said, food science has many divisions. Some that interest me are product development (making recipes), food packaging (designing packages), and sensory science. A lot of it includes trying food and figuring out how to make food marketable. It sounds so interesting! I have a conference next week with my guidance counselor to talk about college and she might ask what I want to do. I now know what my answer to that question will be! To celebrate, I made Snickers cupcakes! Why Snickers? Because Snickers used to be one of my favorite candies before I became vegan. I was craving Snickers, so I decided to make Snickers-like cupcakes! These cupcakes are gooey in the middle, crunchy on top, sweet, and completely delicious! Try them out and you will see taste! 100_1814Snickers cupcake Chocolate Cupcake (I made the Celebration Cake batter by Chloe Coscarelli in Chloe’s Vegan Desserts (pg.  131) and made it into cupcakes. The batter made 28 cupcakes!)

  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups cold water
  • 1 cup canola oil
  • 1/4 cup vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. In a large bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients. Whisk together the liquid ingredients in a separate bowl. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and thoroughly whisk. Line cupcake tins and pour the batter into them. Bake for around 18 minutes. Let the cupcakes cool before filling and frosting them.

“Caramel”

  • 3/4 cup of dates (about 30 dates)
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup nondairy milk

Blend the dates into little pieces in a food processor. Then add the rest of the sauce ingredients and blend until smooth.

Peanut Butter Frosting

Makes enough frosting for 24 cupcakes

  • 2/3 cup peanut butter
  • 1/3 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/3 cup nondairy milk

With a stand or hand mixer, beat all ingredients together until smooth.

To Assemble The Cupcakes: Poke a hole in the top of each cupcake and pipe a tablespoon or two of caramel into it. Make sure not to add too much caramel (more than 2 tablespoons) or the cupcake could burst! I used a “cupcake decorating set” (that’s the contraption’s actual name) from Nordic Ware to pipe the caramel into the cupcakes. If you don’t have a cupcake decorating set like I do, you can scoop the caramel into a plastic bag and cut a hole into the corner of the plastic bag. Then pipe the caramel into the cupcake from the hole in the bag! Then, spread frosting on each cupcake. If you want to be fancy, you can crush some peanuts and sprinkle them on top of the cupcakes. Enjoy! Snickers cupcake top Snickers Cupcakes Have a fun and fabulous day!

xx Ellie

Leave a Reply

