Crunch-y Bars

Fall is a busy time of year. This week is especially busy for me! Meetings, homework, and the fall play (at my high school) that I’m in opens this weekend! My schedule looks like this: school, homework, play dress rehearsal, eat chocolate, and curl my hair and get it ready for rehearsal the next day! Yes, I put my hair in curlers and wear a turban that covers the curlers to school. This is what I look like today:

Photo on 11-5-14 at 12.38 PM #2

It’s all fun, though (well, minus the homework)! The show is called The Matchmaker, and it is the play version of the musical Hello, Dolly! . I play a gypsy. I need chocolate to get me through this busy show week!!! A great way to get my chocolate fix is through these crunchy bars! They’re basically my homemade version of NestlΓ© Crunch Bars. Crunchy and chocolatey, they’re a perfect snack and a cure to a chocolate craving. 100_3200

Crunch-y Bars

makes a small pan full (about 20 1 inch by 1 inch squares)

  • 1 cup of chocolate chips
  • dash of nondairy milk
  • 1 and 1/4 cup of regular or cocoa crisp rice cereal (like Rice Krispies)

Cover a pan in parchment paper. Get out a double boiler and melt the chocolate in it. Then add in the chocolate chips and a bit of nondairy milk (only a tablespoon or two) to the boiler. When the chocolate is melted, add in the crisp rice cereal. I used Cocoa Krispies for an extra chocolatey crunch! Stir it all around, then pour the mixture into the papered pan. Put the pan in the freezer for about half an hour, or until the chocolate hardens. Then take out, cut, and enjoy! Store in the freezer. 100_3210 Eat some chocolate and enjoy your day!

xx Ellie

3 thoughts on “Crunch-y Bars

Leave a Reply

