Hummingbird Cookies

I woke up today to an amazing surprise: no school! Today we got our first snow day of the year. Hooray for snow days! However, not hooray for icy roads and cold weather (the reason for snow days). I don’t mind the snow right now, but talk to me in January and my opinion will be very different.

100_3304

Look at the snow!

I thought to myself ,”Now, what shall I do today?”

The answer: BAKE!

100_3333100_3335Hummingbird cookies came out of my snowy morning baking. I made hummingbird cupcakes this past weekend, and I love hummingbird cake, but I’ve never heard of or made hummingbird cookies! So I made some. They have similar ingredients and flavors  as hummingbird cake, but they’re in cookie form! “Hummingbird” is such a funny adjective for these cookies, especially since they’re vegan, but they’re like typical hummingbird cake ingredient-wise (pineapple, banana, coconut, and nut) and flavor-wise. It makes me wonder how someone came up with “hummingbird” to describe this flavor combo! I’m glad they did, because I love the flavor it entails!

Without further ado, I present the recipe to you!

100_3331

Hummingbird Cookies

by Ellie Haun

makes 12 cookies

  • 1 banana
  • 1/4 cup crushed pineapple
  • 1/8 cup flaxseed meal
  • ½ cup oats
  • 5 dates
  • 1/4 cup dried coconut
  • 1/8 cup walnuts
  • pinch of salt
  • ½ tsp cinnamon
  • ½ tsp vanilla

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Combine all ingredients in a food processor. Process until everything is combined and completely mixed together (it will take about a minute). Using a cookie scoop, scoop cookies onto a cookie sheet. The batter should make 12 or 13 cookies. Smush the cookies down with a flat object or your hands so the cookies are flat (not round). Sprinkle the tops of the cookies with dried coconut, then place in the oven and bake for 9 minutes. Let them cool, then enjoy!

These cookies make great outsides for banana ice cream cookie sandwiches! Make the cookies, then make banana ice cream (blend up a banana or two in your food processor with a few tablespoons of unsweetened nondairy milk). Place the banana ice cream in between two cookies, then enjoy!

100_3332Have a great day, and stay warm if it’s cold and snowy where you are! If not, enjoy the warmth you lucky duck!

xx Ellie

3 thoughts on “Hummingbird Cookies

Leave a Reply

