Festive Sugar Cookies

One of my favorite holiday traditions is getting together with friends and making and decorating sugar cookies! It all started around 4 years ago, when I thought it would be fun to invite some of my closest friends over to make, bake, and decorate sugar cookies! Each year since, one of the main reasons that I can’t wait until the holiday season rolls around is so that I can invite friends over to decorate and eat cookies! The people who come change slightly from year to year, but the activity itself never changes.

P1230058

The first year, we made non-vegan cookies with the store-bought frosting. Each year since, I’ve made a vegan and non-vegan version of cookies for my friends and I to enjoy! It’s a fun and delicious experience that exposes my friends to more vegan yumminess! It’s funny because now my core group of friends and I call each other “cookies” because of the cookie decorating party! What can I say, making cookies brings people together. 

These cookies make a great snack or dessert. They’re also a fun food to bring to one of the many parties you may be invited to this holiday season! Enjoy making and decorating festive cookies!

P1230057

decorated with frosting, sprinkles, and chocolate chips!

P1230056FESTIVE SUGAR COOKIES

makes 2 dozen

adapted from the sugar cookies in Chloe’s Vegan Desserts

  • 2 and ½ cups flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • ½ tsp baking soda
  • 1 cup vegan margarine, such as Earth Balance
  • 4 tablespoons water
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • optional: mix in a ½ cup of chocolate chips into the batter for a chocolate-y sugar cookie! 
  • frosting!
  • sprinkles!
  • more chocolate chips!!!

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Make sure the margarine is at room temperature. Mix together margarine, water, and vanilla. Add in flour, sugar, and baking soda and mix until just combined. If the dough is too runny, add a pinch more flour or cover the batter and put it in the fridge for 15 minutes. Roll the dough out into about 1/4 to 1/8″ thick with a rolling pin on a floured surface or on a parchment mat/ sheet. Cut it into shapes, place on a baking sheet, and bake for 8-10 minutes, or until the cookies are light brown and a bit crunchy. Frost with (vegan!) store-bought frosting or homemade frosting from  cookbook or the internet (we were lazy and juts used the store-bought stuff). Add sprinkles, chocolate chips, or whatever other topping your heart desires! Enjoy and spread the holiday cheer!

P1230064On a similar note, I bought some lotion last week from Aspara Spa (a beauty place near where I live) that smells EXACTLY like the sugar cookies I made with friends. It’s magical fairy sweetness serum. Let’s just say that I’m obsessed, and with good reason! A bonus (besides the amazing smell and cute bottle) is that it’s vegan lotion made with natural and yummy ingredients! Yay! For those of you interested, the magic lotion is made by Farm House Fresh and is called Whoopie Cream. It’s expensive ($30 for 8 oz) but SO worth it! Needlesss to say, it will make the top of my Fab 5 Friday list for this week!*

Making sugar cookies and whoopie cream lotion are the keys to happiness. 

Have a magical day!

xx Ellie

*I’m not an advertiser for Farm House Fresh, I just really love the smell and feel of their lotion so I wanted to share it with you all! It makes me incredibly happy, so I wanted to share the happiness of it! 

P1230068

This post is part of A Vegan Holiday, a collaboration among vegan and veg-friendly bloggers. Follow along on social media with #AVeganHoliday. Want to learn more or become a contributor? Find out more here or here

5 thoughts on “Festive Sugar Cookies

Leave a Reply

