Fab Five Monday

The internet wasn’t working so this post is a little belated. Sorry!

The past week has been super cool for me. I tried new things and foods, went to new places, and it was Christmas on Thursday! Best week ever! 

1. Siem Reap, Cambodia and Angkor Watt

Last Monday, my family and I arrived in Siem Reap, Cambodia. I loved it there!!! The landscape was pretty, the people there were so friendly and had beautiful smiles, and the town was chock-full of history because Angkor Watt and other ancient temples are there. Angkor Watt was amazing. It was gigantic and incredibly ornate. I still can’t believe that  it was built over 900 years ago and that it only took 30 years to make (incredible considering how large it is and how much detail there is throughout it)! If you are looking for a travel destination, Siem Reap is a great option. Lovers of history, architecture, people, adventure, and beauty will fall in love with Siem Reap. The town has markets, tons of restaurants, tours, and 16+ old temples. It also has zip lining, which brings me to #2 on the fab five list…

P1230825

2. Zip lining across the treetops in Cambodia

This was my second time zip lining, but it was just as fun as the first time! It’s so fun to coast along the treetops and see the world from a different point of view. It was also fun to see some of the wildlife in the jungles of Cambodia. 

P1230658

doing the double zipline with my aunt!

3. Scuba Diving

I went scuba diving for the first time in Boracay, an island in the Philippines. It was scary (at first), but it became enjoyable! It was scary to breathe in a new way and to depend on a regulator for my air supply. It became fun when I realized that I was perfectly safe because we dove with instructors who knew what they were doing. We went about 20 meters deep and saw coral reefs and fishies! I found Nemo hiding in his anemone home. Scuba diving was an unforgettable experience. 

4. Warm weather 

It’s been so nice to have a break from the cold weather in the Northern USA. It’s been in the 80s (Fahrenheit) where I’ve traveled in Asia. It’s been a glorious change. I even got a tan (and some sunburn) in Boracay! 

5. Lounging on the beach in Boracay because who doesn’t love a little relaxation time!? I loved swimming in the ocean, walking the white sand beach, reading, getting a tan, and drinking lots of fresh fruit smoothies! I was spoiled this week, and I loved it! 

This past week has been incredible. I’ve done so many new and exciting things! It was also Christmas, which I can’t believe! It didn’t feel like Christmas at all because it wasn’t like our typical Christmas. This trip is our present so we didn’t open any gifts, and it wasn’t snowing and was 80 degrees F on Christmas, which never happens back home! I loved this past week, even though especially because it was different than my typical Christmas week! 

I hope you all had an amazing Christmas or Hanukkah or Kwanzaa or another holiday! Have a fantastic new year as well! 

cool sand castle

Look at this amazing sand castle on the white sand beach in Boracay! It took 4 boys only an hour to make!!!

xx Ellie

One thought on “Fab Five Monday

Leave a Reply

