Fab 5 Friday 1/23/15

This week started out not fun but has become super fun! I took exams Monday through Thursday, which were definitely NOT fun (but I had to do them), but today I didn’t have school! Yay for breaks! My favorite things this week are things that I love because they make me happy. You probably or will probably like them too!

1. Brick Road Pizza Co.

FullSizeRenderIMG_0066

This is one of my favorite restaurants in my city. They cater to vegans, vegetarians, and carnivores alike! On Tuesday through Friday they have an all-you-can-eat buffet with salad, doughy and delicious breadsticks, soup, and VEGAN PIZZA! OMG it’s delicious. And to complete your meal… the best vegan chocolate chip cookies in the universe. I went there today for lunch and ate my weight in pizza topped with vegan cheese, tempeh chorzio, tomato, artichoke, mushroom, and kale. Kale yes!!! My mouth is watering just looking at them in the above pictures! If you’re ever in Michigan (near or in my town), come here. You will not be disappointed!

2. Days off school! 

I had today off of school so the teachers could prep and grade exams and such. It was great! It’s so nice to sleep in and have a day without homework and school stress.

3. The Theory of Everything

Since I didn’t have school today (see #2), my family and I went to the movie theatre to see The Theory of Everything. It’s the true story of Stephen and Jane Hawking. The movie plot line was okay. There was not a ton of action since it’s about Stephen and his transformation from young, able-bodied student to ALS-inflicted, wheelchair bound physicist. The cinematography was great, but my favorite part was the acting. Eddie Redmayne is a genius actor! He was able to portray Hawking’s decay and actually looks just like Stephen Hawking! Felicity Jones is wonderful as caring Jane who has the weight of Stephen and the rest of her family on her shoulders. This was a good film because I learned more about who Stephen Hawking is and what his life is like. It’s a film for mature audiences though, because kids might be bored watching it.

4. Playing Tennis

I’ve missed playing tennis! It is my favorite sport, but I don’t get to play it much in the winter because there are not very many indoor courts available. However, I’ve gotten to play it three times this week already. Yippee! I love tennis and I am so excited for tennis season at my high school (it’s in the spring for girls). Does anyone else love tennis?

5. MyFitnessPal App

This app is SO COOL. I love food and the science of food and calories, so this app is super interesting to me! It tracks what you eat, the calories in the food you eat, and the exercise you do. I don’t really care about all that because I don’t think you should count calories. You should eat whatever you want if you’re hungry (but I’m partial to vegan food!)! What I do find interesting: you can type in a URL (for a recipe) on the app, get the recipe from the site, and the app will determine how many calories are in the recipe! Cool, right!? I think so. Does anyone want me to include the nutritional information for my recipes from now on? Let me know if you do and I will!

This week has been pretty eventful with exams and such. It’s been fun though! I hope you’ve had a fun week so far and that your weekend is fabulous!

xx Ellie

Leave a Reply

