Chiavocanana Smoothie

So I got acupuncture a few weeks ago. You know, the ancient Chinese medicine that involves getting needles stuck into you? Yeah, that acupuncture.

I’ve always wanted to try acupuncture, even though I have a major dislike / fear of needles.

“Why in the world would you want needles stuck in you if you don’t like them!?” you may ask. Well, acupuncture relieves tension and pain, and it helps cure illness and disease.

My right upper arm and shoulder were really bugging me because I was overusing them in tennis. So, I got acupuncture  (and cupping, and scraping, and massage therapy) from an amazing acupuncturist my mom knows from yoga! The needle part was fine because I closed my eyes so I didn’t see them. It hurt when she adjusted the needles, but by the end of the hour-long session my arm felt better. I was also really tired, since my body was using lots of energy to heal.

So what does acupuncture have to do with this smoothie recipe?

IMG_1864

I talked all about my health, my diet, and my lifestyle with the acupuncturist. She went to school for acupuncture and is a guru when it comes to health and wellness! She told me that I was eating too much sugar and not enough healthy fats and proteins. She gave me the idea for this smoothie! She told me that 2 bananas is too much sugar for a smoothie and that I needed to add healthy protein and fats into a smoothie in order to make it a meal. So that’s what I did.

This smoothie is creamy thanks to the avocado and banana, sweet thanks to the berries and the banana, rich in protein and healthy fats thanks to the chia seeds and avocado, and overall a super nutritious and filling smoothie! It also tastes good, but isn’t that a given!?

Enjoy!

IMG_1887

IMG_1848

Chiavocanana Smoothie

a.k.a. chia avocado banana smoothie

serves 1

  • 1 cup nondairy milk (I love almond milk)
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 8 frozen strawberries
  • 2 cups kale (or another leafy green)
  • 1/4 or 1/2 avocado
  • 2 tablespoons chia seeds

Throw everything in a blender and blend, baby, blend!

Have a great weekend!

xx Ellie

8 thoughts on “Chiavocanana Smoothie

Leave a Reply

