Fab 5 Friday 6/5/15

1235177_446217005491880_720630199_n

adorable picture from the internet

It’s been a while since I’ve written a “Fab Five Friday,” so I figured it was high time to do one!

This week was the last week of school! This means that now I’m “top of the food chain” because the seniors graduated, and I will be a senior in 3 months. I’ll be applying for universities in 3 months! Ahhh!

Also, my high school tennis season is over. States were this past weekend (which is why I’ve been M.I.A.!), and we did okay. I had fun though, and at the end of the day that’s more important than winning! We’ll do better next year, hopefully! Speaking of exercise…

1. I loved this very truthful article by one of my favorite fitness gurus, Rebecca-Louise.

She writes about how being healthy is better than being skinny! I agree! It’s better and healthier to have muscle and be strong than to be stick thin. This article is a good reminder of that, and it doesn’t take long to read.

2. I also love Rebecca-Louise’s website!

She has TONS of great workout videos. She even has a calendar showing what videos to do each day to tone your entire body! I just love her workout videos, especially her ab workout videos! Check out her site if you love working out like I do!

Here’s one of her “beginner abs” videos — try it out if you’d like!

3. Throne of Glass, a novel by Sarah J. Mass

I love to read fiction novels in my free time! Do you? If you do, I just read a book that I think you’d like. I couldn’t put it down! Throne of Glass is a fantasy novel about an assassin named Celaena Sardothien, who lives in the land of Adarlan. She was caught for assassination and was working as a slave in a salt mine when the Crown Prince of the kingdom gives her a chance to compete in a contest with 21 other assassins, burglars, and soldiers. If she wins, she becomes the King of Adarlan’s “champion” — she’d be paid to do the king’s “dirty work”, and she’d be freed after four years have passed. The book details her time at the competition, and the evil inside the castle. The book is a bit like The Hunger Games because it details an action-packed competition, but it has elements of fantasy and romance in it as well. It’s my kind of book = action and adventure with a little bit of romance! I can’t wait to read the sequel!

4. AquafabA “Marshmallow Fluff”

It’s MAGIC. Drain chickpeas but keep the liquid from them. Put ½ cup of the chickpea liquid in a mixer and add ½ cup sugar and some vanilla. Whip it for 11-12 minutes, until it whips up and looks like marshmallow fluff!!! More in-depth descriptions of how to make aquafaba marshmallow fluff can be found HERE and HERE. There’s also an aquafaba Facebook page with ideas of how to use aquafaba! Aquafaba is taking the vegan world by storm.

Screen Shot 2015-06-05 at 11.14.41 AM

a picture of aquafaba marshmallow fluff from my Instagram @peanutbutterandle

5. How To: Live A Waste Free Lifestyle 

Click the link above, watch the video, and you will be amazed! Lauren Singer reduces, reuses, and recycles EVERYTHING. All of her trash from the past 3 years fits into 1 mason jar (!!!). This summer I am going to try living a more sustainable lifestyle. Being vegan definitely helps the Earth, but going waste-free helps it even more! Please, watch her video because it covers an important topic that we ALL need to address. We ALL need to make less waste, and Lauren gives some great ideas of how to!

Happy SUMMER! I’m super pumped!!! (if you can’t tell by all the capital letters and exclamation marks). To celebrate the end of the school year, tonight I’m having everyone from the Veggie Club at our school over for an outdoor potluck! I can’t wait!

Do you have any fun “beginning of the summer” plans? Is it summer for you yet? If it’s not, I’m sending you some sunshine!

xx Ellie

5 thoughts on “Fab 5 Friday 6/5/15

  1. Ellie says:

    I need to make that fluff! I am addicted to PB&fluff sammies (or, anything with PB really). If you are interested in sustainability, I would recommend reading or watching The Story Of Stuff. Talk about all the crap we use! Have a fun potluck!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

