Gingery Veggie Stir-Fry

100_4845

I’m all about using fresh vegetables in the summer. We have a square foot garden at my cottage, which is where I live in the summer. I live in the cottage, not the garden btw. I may eat a bag of baby carrots a day, but  I’m not THAT much of a rabbit.

We grow all kinds of vegetables in our garden, but the plants that thrive there are broccoli, green beans, swiss chard, lettuce, and kale! I used three of those five fresh vegetables in this stir-fry, which is one of my go-to summer meals. It has a great natural flavor thanks to the fresh veggies, but it also has a little kick from the ginger and garlic.

;

IMG_4207

fresh veggies from our garden  : green beans, broccoli, and swiss chard

I use the vegetables we have on hand when I make this stir-fry. I often just step outside and grab veggies from the garden! No worries if you don’t have a garden. You can just use whatever veggies you have in your kitchen for this stir-fry! This ginger / garlic combo tastes great with almost any vegetable (although I’m not sure how great it would taste with beets or cucumbers…).

It is the perfect light summer meal, but it also makes a great side dish. I can see this being served at a dinner party, as a potluck dish, or as a side to a veggie burger!

Enjoy one of my favorite simple, flavorful, and fresh meals!

100_4838

100_4849

Gingery Veggie Stir-Fry

serves 2

*This is a very “laid back” recipe. Below is what my mom and I usually stir-fry, but you can add and subtract as many veggies as you’d like!*

  • 1 head broccoli
  • 1 head cauliflower
  • 1-2 cups beans
  • 1-2 ears of corn
  • 1 onion
  • 2 tomatoes
  • 1-2 cups swiss chard (3-6 large leaves)
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1-2 tablespoons grated fresh ginger OR you can use squeeze-able ginger like the one linked HERE.
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  1. Chop the veggies into bite-sized pieces.
  2. Spray / oil a large pan with cooking spray / olive oil.
  3. Add the veggies to the pan. Turn the heat on the pan to medium-high. Sauté the veggies (stir them back and forth with a spatula) until the swiss chard is wilted and the veggies are a tiny bit brown and look ready to devour! Pour the veggies into two bowls, season with more ginger, garlic, salt, and pepper (if desired) and enjoy!

Have a happy, veggie-filled day!

xx Ellie

P.S. – a great post-meal snack is one of these cupcakes! I made these yesterday for my street’s block party. They’re banana chocolate chip spice cupcakes with expresso frosting. I guess they’d be called banoffee  spice cupcakes? The recipe is from Chloe’s Vegan Italian Kitchen by Chloe Coscarelli (I’m kind of obsessed with her and her recipes if you haven’t noticed… 🙂 ). I topped them with cinnamon and a Ghiradelli semi-sweet chocolate chip (I’m also obsessed with these chocolate chips!!!).

100_5070

11 thoughts on “Gingery Veggie Stir-Fry

    • peanutbutterandellie says:

      Thank you so much, Liz! 2 years ago my dad and I built a “square foot garden” where the garden bed is like a foot above ground. It’s been my little project ever since! It’s a bit overgrown, but we’ve gotten a lot of fresh veggies out of it 🙂 Do you have a garden in NC?

      Like

    • peanutbutterandellie says:

      Hehehe 🙂 I’ve done that before — skipped the main in favor of dessert. Or I’ve had dessert before my meal and then I didn’t eat much of the meal. Blame my sweet teeth and the always empty “dessert side” of my stomach!

      Like

Leave a Reply

