What I Eat in a Day

ONE OF THE FIRST QUESTIONS PEOPLE ASK ME WHEN THEY FIND OUT I AM VEGAN IS, “WHAT DO YOU EAT ON A DAILY BASIS?”

Well, the answer to that question changes depending on my schedule and the season!

For BREAKFAST, I’ll typically have one of the following meals.

100_4513 100_4137 100_3358

Above, from left to right : a pink and green(s) smoothiestrawberry jam muffins, and a peanut butter banana smoothie. These are some of my favorite breakfasts!

LUNCH changes depending on what day of the week it is.

  • Weekdays during the school year (September-June), I will normally pack a peanut butter and jelly sandwich (hence “Peanut Butter and Ellie”), a piece of fruit, and some sort of dessert.
  • On weekends (or weekdays during the summer), I will typically sauté veggies and eat them with hummus. I’ll also eat fruit and dessert (I MUST eat dessert and chocolate every day!!!).

IMG_1753    100_4321

Above peanut butter and jelly. Combine them with bread to make a yummy sandwich!

I normally eat two snacks a day. I eat one before lunch and one around 3 or 4 pm (after school). SNACKS are…

  • plain fruit
  • fruit slathered with nut butter
  • veggies + hummus
  • smoothies

DINNER normally comes from one of my favorite vegan cookbooks. My mom and I love to cook dinner together, but sometimes that just doesn’t happen. Normally, we’ll make a vegan dinner one night and my brother (and sometimes dad) will eat non-vegan leftovers. The next night, my mom will make a fresh non-vegan dinner for the boys and we will eat leftovers.

Some of our favorite meals include Chloe Coscarelli’s “Pineapple Not-So-Fried Rice,” “Orange You Glad I Made Crispy Tofu,” Peanut Noodles, and “Stuffed Shells in Arrabbiata Sauce” (all of these recipes are from her first cookbook, Chloe’s Kitchen).

*Click on the links above for some of the recipes!*

When I’m in a hurry, I make quick and easy meals. Two of my favorite quick and easy meals are spaghetti with marinara sauce (I like Barilla’s traditional marinara sauce) and a veggie quesadilla with vegan cheese.

100_4885 100_4370 100_4999

Above, from left to right : veggie quesadilla, pesto protein bowl, and vibrant penne pasta. These are three of my favorite quick and easy dinners.

This is the meal plan that I’ve found to work for me. It may or may not work for you! How much, how little, and what you eat depends on your body type and how much physical activity you get every day. Basically this is me telling you to eat whatever your body wants you to eat! If your body is craving carrots, eat carrots. If it’s craving chocolate, eat chocolate! I’ve found a vegan diet of both raw and cooked foods works best for me.

I would highly recommend a vegan diet and lifestyle to everyone!

Hope this helps!

xx Ellie

16 thoughts on “What I Eat in a Day

  1. dhbg says:

    Love posts like this! I’ve been vegan 20 years and people *still* ask what I eat. I think people believe I fall down on my face in a field and start chewing. Your daily eats look delicious! 🙂 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Ellie says:

    Of course vegan is best! 🙂 I basically have your lunch (PB&J) for all my meals haha. Maybe this fall I’ll get back into cooking. I’m more inspired when it’s colder out.

    Liked by 1 person

    • peanutbutterandellie says:

      It’s not fun to be in a hot kitchen cooking hot food when it’s sweltering outside! It’s so much nicer and more fun to cook when it’s colder.
      Well, you can’t go wrong with PB&J. It’s a great combo and it’s quick and easy to make! As the saying goes, “If it’s not broke, don’t fix it!”

      Like

  3. thebarefootbanana says:

    LOVE your meals Ellie! They’re so vibrant and full of color. I think my favorite meal would have to be banana nice cream for ANY TIME OF DAY. I think it might be my favorite food (shhh..don’t let the nut butters and avocados hear that). I think it tastes so much better than regular ice cream, plus you can top it with so many things. And I also love that you use vegan cookbooks. I have to get my hands on some of those. Currently I’m using normal cookbooks and just making the recipes vegan, but I’d love to just start with the vegan ones!

    Liked by 1 person

    • peanutbutterandellie says:

      Thank you so much, Abby!
      Banana ice cream is THE BEST, so I totally understand why that’s your favorite food (I’ll try not to tell peanut butter that, but I can’t guarantee it). It tastes just as good as ice cream, but it’s better for you so you can eat MORE (always a good thing). What nice cream toppings to you like?
      Vegan cookbooks are great because we can make and eat every recipe in them (less work)! I like the way you do it too though because you can be creative. What cookbooks are you using right now?

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

