Blogiversary!

Guess what!?

Look at the title of this post and you’ll know what. Hehe.

My blog turned 1 on Sunday! YAY! Peanut Butter & Ellie’s next goal is to learn how to walk. Just kidding. But wouldn’t it be cool to see blogs walk? Or computers? Maybe in the future! You could have a robot blog or robot computer (there are probably robot computers right now! Actually, I think robots are computers.)

Back to the blogiversary.

One year ago yesterday I created a WordPress account and started this lil’ bloggie. I’ve published 92 posts (including this one). Click here to see my first post and my first food sharing post and you can see how far I’ve come, both in writing and photography!

Screen Shot 2015-09-06 at 2.44.45 PM

One of the first recipes I shared was this “Fancy Stir-Fry.” I photographed it inside when it was raining (bad lighting), so I used flash (bad idea). Now I know that you shouldn’t use flash in food photography because it makes pictures wayyy too overexposed!

Compare it to my most recent post, “Caramel Peanut Butter Cookie Ice Cream,” and hopefully you will see an improvement in my photography!

tomato stir-fry

100_5179

Guess who also had a birthday!? Me. I turned 17 (!!!!!) on Saturday (Sept. 5).

I HAVE to mention the treats I tasted since this IS a food blog after all! I had vegan cupcakes from a local bakery for a pre-birthday celebration with my grandparents AND I made a hummingbird cake for my actual birthday (recipe is linked). The cupcakes were matcha (chocolate cupcake with green tea frosting), double chocolate, pistachio (chocolate cupcake + vanilla frosting + pistachios), and peanut butter & jelly (chocolate cake with peanut butter frosting and a jam swirl)! A hummingbird cake is a spice cake made with bananas, walnuts, and pineapple. It is deeeeelicious. I frosted mine with this buttercream frosting (linked, I used 1 cup Earth Balance instead of ½ cup shortening and ½ cup butter).

100_5184

clockwise from far left : matcha, pistachio, pb&j, and double chocolate (sprinkled with sea salt).

Screen Shot 2015-09-07 at 8.24.55 PM

Blowing out the candles of my hummingbird cake! It was so hot outside that a lot of the frosting melted off the cake (aka why you see unfrosted spots)!

Also, tomorrow I start my FINAL YEAR of high school! Where has the time gone!?!!???

Anyway, I just wanted to give you a little update on life as of late. I’m hoping to spend a lot of time crafting in the kitchen this fall! It will be a great break from college applications.

If you have a blog, when is your blogiversary? How old is your blog?  Also, is anyone else doing college apps right now?

Happy Labor Day! And to public schoolchildren : happy first day of school tomorrow!

xx Ellie

24 thoughts on “Blogiversary!

  1. Ellie says:

    Congratulations! You photos have gotten really beautiful lately. I don’t know how many years I’ve been at this (I’ve gone on hiatus a few times) but the other week I reached my 500th post. Not sure where the time has gone! I’d like to think I’ve gotten better as I read and learn how to blog. Mostly I’ve learned that I don’t want to be an “advice” blog and treat it more as a diary of funny stuff that happens to me. A few vegan recipes here and there is cool too. Cheers to another year of writing!

    Like

    • peanutbutterandellie says:

      Thank you so much, Ellie!
      WOW! 500 posts! That’s amazing. Reading other blogs really does help bloggers get better.They also give me lots of inspiration!
      I like the way your blog is set up — I really get a sense of who you are through it. It’s great because you show people that athletes can thrive on a plant-based diet!
      Cheers to you as well (raise your smoothie glass!)!

      Like

  2. Deniza says:

    Congratulations dear! In fact, I found your blog around half a year ago and I also bookmarked it somehow with med school I never got the chance to leave a comment eek!😁 anyways, now that I’m on WP too I’m glad I refound you. And your pictures should be forbidden😊❤️ keep it up! :*

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Liz says:

    Congrats Ellie! I can’t believe it’s been a year already! Your photos are absolutely stunning— especially those recent ones of the ice cream. Droooool. Good luck with the start of your last year of high school! Live it up!

    Liked by 1 person

    • peanutbutterandellie says:

      Thank you so much Britt! Wahoo!
      Wow you have been blogging forever compared to how old the internet is! That’s so cool! I cannot agree with the fact that you’re an old lady though bc you’re not. Hehe.
      ps. – I’m at 21 miles / 100 for September! I ran 6 today 🙂 I’m slowly but surely catching up because I haven’t been running every day! How are you doing?

      Like

      • Brittany says:

        After today’s 3 miler I will be at 40! One of those miles is an “extra” so just trying to figure out if I want to use it on one of my next three runs. I have three 5milers the next three days so I may want to cash in my extra lifeline for one of those. 😉 Way to go on your 6 miler!! Isn’t it fun!?

        Liked by 1 person

      • peanutbutterandellie says:

        Ooh 3 5 milers in a row… sounds a bit difficult (but fun after the fact 😉 ). I’m about to run 5 right now! I just kind of make it up by the day how many miles I want to go. Hehe.
        It really is fun! It’s helping me enjoy running itself– I even ran without music my past 2 runs (which is typically the only thing that keeps me running)!
        Thanks so much for the great idea! xx

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Chelsea Vanderbeek says:

    Oh wow, happy blogiversary and happy 17th birthday!!! 🎂 I bet those cupcakes were amazing, and that cake sounds “deeelicious” too! And Ellie, I’ve been LOVING your pics lately!
    My blog turned 1 back in May, and I’ve learned a LOT about blogging and photography since I started too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

