Blueberry Coffee Cake

Merry Christmas! Also happy Kwanzaa (even though it starts tomorrow) and happy belated Hanukkah! I guess I should probably just say “happy holidays” instead.

I’m going to keep this post short and sweet because I’m about to go celebrate Christmas with my family! My family’s tradition is to wake up relatively early, open gifts at our house, then travel (a few miles) to my grandparent’s house for more present opening, brunch, and family time. This tradition has been going strong since my birth (minus last year). I LOVE it. What is your Christmas day (or other holiday) tradition?

blueberrycoffeecake

One of the foods that makes an appearance at Christmas brunch year after year is blueberry coffee cake made with a recipe from my grandma’s old Junior League cookbook. In years past, I’ve just foregone the [nonvegan] coffeecake and loaded up on fruit. This year, however, my grandma put me in charge of making a vegan version of the coffee cake! The original version called for shortening, egg, milk, and cups upon cups of sugar. I don’t know about you, but I eat so much sugar during the holiday season that I put Buddy the Elf to shame. Because of this, I decreased the amount of sugar in the coffee cake (I also did it so I can justify eating cake for breakfast because now it’s “healthy cake,” which is an oxymoron by the way). This version is also vegan because I’m vegan and I WANT TO EAT CAKE TOO.

100_6250

I replaced the shortening the original recipe called for with coconut oil and applesauce so the cake is way more nutritious (and has fewer calories) than the original. I replaced the egg with a trusty “flax egg” and the milk with almond milk (but feel free to use any type of nondairy milk). I hope my family loves this coffee cake as much as I do! I think it tastes like the original non-vegan version, but then again, it’s been a few years since I tried it. The cake is dusted with a cinnamon sugar topping that makes it taste like baby angel wings (well, what I think baby angel wings would taste like).

Make this coffee cake for Christmas brunch (for this year if you are a hardcore procrastinator that can whip out this coffeecake ASAP or for Christmas next year?), for New Year’s day, or make it on a Friday night and enjoy it on a lazy Saturday morning with a cup of coffee (since it is COFFEE cake).  Unless you’re me because I don’t like coffee (although I’ve only ever tried straight black coffee so I can’t say I don’t like all coffee… coffee lovers, what coffee is good that I should try to end my dislike of coffee?).

Grab a drink (of any variety), a plate, a fork, a knife, and cut into this delicious coffee cake!

100_6181

Blueberry Coffee Cake

Serves 8-12

Based on the “Huckleberry Buckle” recipe in an old Junior League cookbook (page 53)

Coffee Cake Layer:

  • 1/4 cup coconut oil (unsoftened)
  • 1/4 cup applesauce
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 flax egg
  • 2 cups flour (1 cup all-purpose, 1 cup whole wheat)
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 and ½ tsp baking powder
  • ½ cup nondairy milk
  • 2 cups blueberries

Topping:

  • ½ cup sugar
  • ½ cup flour
  • ½ tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
Screen Shot 2015-12-25 at 1.22.00 AM

Batter on the left, topping on the right

  1. Make a flax egg by mixing together one tablespoon of flaxseed meal and three tablespoons of water in a small bowl. Let it sit in the fridge for 15 minutes.
  2. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.
  3. For cake: cream coconut oil, applesauce, and sugar together in a stand mixer.
  4. Add in the flax egg and mix to combine.
  5. Add in a cup of flour, the salt, and the baking powder and mix to combine.
  6. Add in half of the milk (1/4 cup) and mix to combine.
  7. Add in the other cup of flour and mix to combine (do you see a pattern here?).
  8. Add in the rest of the milk (1/4 cup) and mix to combine.
  9. Fold in the blueberries (I used frozen because it’s winter here in MI so there aren’t any fresh blueberries. Cue the tears.).
  10. Spray/ (vegan) butter the bottom of an 8 x 8 inch pan. Add the batter to the pan. The batter SHOULD be thick and blue (the blue color will bake out! *In Bill Nye voice: “Science RULES!”*)
  11. Make the topping by combining all the topping ingredients together. Sprinkle the topping liberally onto the top of the cake.
  12. Put the cake in the oven for 1 hour and 15 minutes, or until the cake and topping are both golden brown and the cake is no longer gooey in the middle.
  13. Let it cool, slice it, and enjoy it!

100_6276

Enjoy cake for breakfast today (or any day) with this coffeecake. Merry Christmas!

xo Ellie

P.S.- This is my 100th blog post! Merry Christmas to my blog, I guess this post is its present??

9 thoughts on “Blueberry Coffee Cake

  1. Natalie says:

    It looks so amazing! I think I need to start a blueberry coffee cake tradition in my house! Streusel toppings are one of my favorite things in the whole world of baking, I think baby angel wings are a very accurate description hahahahah 😀 It’s so neat that you veganized the tradition. As for coffee, I once tried this really fancy coffee from Hawaii called Kona coffee and it was amazing, Totally changed my mind about coffee, but now its ruined me for ever liking cheap coffee haha! Oh well, I’ll happily just eat this coffee cake with a side of more coffee cake 🙂 Merry Christmas to you Ellie ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • peanutbutterandellie says:

      Thank you so much for your kind words, Natalie! ❤️ A blueberry coffee cake tradition is a good tradition if I do say so myself (that’s such a strange phrase!).
      I’m with you on streusel toppings.They make everything better! Hahaha.
      Oooh now I need to try this Kona coffee! Unfortunately I’m not going to be in Hawaii any time soon (maybe ever *cue the tears*) so maybe I can find it here in the continental U.S.A.?
      Coffee cake with a side of more coffee cake!? Genius!
      Merry Christmas! Have a wonderful holiday season.
      xx Ellie

      Like

  2. Ellie says:

    I kind of want to smear peanut butter on that and shovel it into my mouth ASAP! My favorite Christmas tradition is going to the movies that afternoon with my friend Jill. I love her, she cracks me up 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

