Simple Green Smoothie Recipes

Hi friends! I am working on a “meal plan” for a week-long vegetarian/ vegan challenge that the veggie club at my school is doing. Kids can choose to eat vegetarian or vegan for a week, but the meal plan I’m creating has ideas and recommendations for vegan breakfasts, lunches, and dinners. I’ll publish it on my blog early next week as we are starting the challenge as a club late next week. Feel free to participate in the challenge with us! I’ll be doing day-by-day recaps of it on my blog by showing what people participating in the challenge ate. I am so excited for it, as hopefully it will get kids in veggie club to eat more plant-based meals. Maybe it will even cause some kids to become full-fledged vegetarian or vegan if they are not already! Wouldn’t that be awesome!?

Here is the smoothie section of the challenge. I am going to link it up to next week’s “meal plan” post.

IMG_4498 IMG_1144IMG_5390 IMG_0593100_3395 IMG_0992 IMG_0908 IMG_1485

Above: some of my favorite smoothies. These are pictures from my Instagram, @peanutbutterandle.

************************

MY FAVORITE SMOOTHIE RECIPES

GREEN SMOOTHIE 1: PEANUT BUTTER BANANA
  • 1 cup nondairy milk (my go-to is unsweetened almond milk)
  • 2 Tbsp peanut butter (or another nut butter)
  • 1 cup greens (spinach or kale)
  • 1 banana, frozen (I peel a bunch of ripe bananas and keep them in a plastic bag in my freezer for smoothies and banana ice cream)

Add the milk, then the nut butter, then greens, then the banana to a blender. I use a Vitamix 5200. It’s expensive, but it works really well. I love it. Blend and enjoy your smoothie. You can top smoothies with coconut flakes, granola, fruit, nuts, and seeds. I love to “go crazy” with toppings! This smoothie serves 1.

Screen Shot 2015-02-27 at 3.44.19 PM

 

GREEN SMOOTHIE 2: TROPICAL STRAWNANA
  • 1 cup apple juice
  • 1 banana, frozen
  • 8 (1/4 cup) strawberries
  • handful of greens
  • 1 Tbsp coconut flakes, optional

Always add the liquid first (to the bottom of the blender) for a smoothie as it makes the smoothie easier to blend. Blend this baby up and enjoy! Serves 1. Other fruity green smoothie recipes I love are HERE and HERE.

Screen Shot 2016-01-03 at 1.23.41 PM IMG_5887

 

GREEN SMOOTHIE 3: CHIAVOCANANA 

*** This smoothie is pretty earthy so just be aware of that if you try it!***

  • 1 cup nondairy milk (I love almond milk)
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 8 frozen strawberries
  • 2 cups kale (or another leafy green)
  • 1/4 or 1/2 avocado
  • 2 tablespoons chia seeds

Throw everything in a blender and blend, baby, blend! Serves 1.

IMG_1848

HERE IS A LINK TO HUNDREDS OF OTHER SMOOTHIE RECIPES MADE BY THE FABULOUS SIMPLE GREEN SMOOTHIE WEBSITE.

Enjoy these smoothie recipes! I love smoothies because they are a great quick, convenient, portable, and healthy meal.

Have a lovely day!
xx Ellie

8 thoughts on “Simple Green Smoothie Recipes

  1. green smoothies says:

    Having read this I thought it was extremely enlightening.
    I appreciate you finding the time and effort to put this article together.
    I once again find myself spending a lot of time both reading and commenting.

    But so what, it was still worth it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

