Veggie Challenge Day 1 Recap

The “Veggie Challenge” has begun!

Ten people are doing the vegan challenge and fifteen people are doing the vegetarian challenge! Two students (that I know of, there might be more) are also getting their family members to do the vegan challenge with them! How cool is that?! And, the challenge has spread out of the EGR veggie club! At least a little bit. To one person. To my best friend who goes to a different school. So it hasn’t really spread much… but it’s awesome that there are SO MANY people doing the challenge!

A super earthy picture that goes well with the “Veggie Challenge.” Found on Google Images.

Also, there are five vegans already in veggie club, and some of them (including me) are trying out “Raw Until Four.” However… I already failed the first day. Because chocolate. You can’t have chocolate until 4 PM with “Raw Until Four.” (!!!!!) I have an addiction to chocolate so I can’t do that. I tried to restrict myself from the dark, melt-in-your-mouth deliciousness but utterly failed as I ended up eating half a (vegan) chocolate bar and a bowl of (vegan) ice cream (which was delicious, so I don’t regret eating it at all). Yup. I can’t do restriction, which is ironic because I’m vegan so I’m already restricting a bunch of food. So I guess I can sort of do restrictions? I don’t know. I DO know that I don’t want to deprive myself of chocolate so I AM NOT GOING TO. But I do need to eat less of it. My mom and I eat a bag of Ghirardelli semi-sweet chocolate chips in three days. There are twenty-three servings in a bag. Whoops (#sorrynotsorry).

It’s okay though, because chocolate is basically salad.

Sorry for the side note about my chocolate addiction. I just thought you should know that chocolate rocks and you shouldn’t deprive yourself of it. 

Back to the challenge.

I think it’s going really well so far for everyone that is doing it. I think it is difficult for people to not eat meat, but I BELIEVE IN THEM!

*****

Emma is doing the vegetarian challenge and shared her meals with me:

  • Breakfast: Potato pancakes from Trader Joe’s (Side note: I didn’t even know that potato pancakes were a thing, but they sound so good! Also, we got a Trader Joe’s in our town this fall and it’s SO NICE.)
  • Lunch: Rice and bean enchiladas
  • Dinner: Vegetable pizza from Sbarro 

Great job, Emma! I’m so proud of you and everyone else that’s doing the challenge. Way to go for trying something new and possibly difficult!

IMG_1470

Emma’s drool-worthy veggie pizza from Sbarro. It’s topped with cheese, kale, and tomato.

Emily is doing the vegan challenge. She followed the meal plan for the first day so she had a strawnana smoothie for breakfast, a peanut butter and jelly sandwich for lunch, and “Orange You Glad I Made Crispy Tofu?” for dinner. YUM! I had orange tofu for dinner too so we were meal twins!

IMG_0808 IMG_6272

Emily and I were tofu twins! 

Sarah also did the vegan challenge and made some absolutely delicious meals! I’m so impressed. Just look at them- they’re so vibrant and pretty!

Here’s what she had:

  • Breakfast: oatmeal with raisins, almonds, and almond milk.
  • Lunch: veggie taco with hummus, zucchini, broccoli, onions, spinach, and salsa.
  • For snack she said she attempted to make homemade granola bars, but they turned into granola. She said it was still delicious!
  • Dinner: quinoa with herbs, garlic, onions and roasted broccoli with peppers.

Sarah said she’s feeling great which is awesome! Her meals look great too. Especially the taco. 

 IMG_6310 12498425_653226224819550_1739894311_n

12540269_653226321486207_1968258015_n IMG_6311

I don’t have any feedback from the “Raw Until Four” girlies (all the vegans in the club are girls). I do know that “Raw Until Four” is very challenging, especially since the meal plan includes 7 bananas, dates, and 2 oranges for breakfast. Yes, you read that right. SEVEN FREAKING BANANAS. For ONE MEAL. Craziness. It sounds yummy, but I just don’t think I could eat that many bananas in one day, let alone in one meal.

I had two bananas blended up with spinach, chia seeds, and cinnamon for breakfast so I was raw but not insane. Then I had falafel for lunch because my mom made them for me. I broke the raw-ness. I’M SORRY. But I had the falafel in a salad with spinach, colorful raw carrots, cauliflower, and hummus so it was mostly raw (?). Then I ate chocolate so I totally broke the rawness but it’s all good.

Screen Shot 2016-01-10 at 12.49.06 AM

My colorful and delicious falafel salad.

I think from now on I’m just going to cut my sugar intake, eat healthier, and do “one dessert a day” (a handful of chocolate chips would equal one dessert). I’m also going to continue to drink smoothies for breakfast because 1) they’re tasty, 2) they’re filling, and 3) they’re good for you!

I hope you liked this vegan challenge round-up! Send me pictures of your food if you’re doing the challenge so I can add it to the round-up. I’ll post a day two round-up tomorrow so be on the lookout!

xx Ellie

16 thoughts on “Veggie Challenge Day 1 Recap

  1. Life Diet Health says:

    Congratulations for attempting Raw until Four Ellie.. I don’t think I could do that! Especially not if there were potato pancakes involved (try these https://lifediethealth.wordpress.com/2015/12/09/potato-cakes-freefrom-vegan/ ) I love your “chocolate is salad” idea but you do know that you can get raw chocolate? so technically you could still have chocolate and do raw til 4! 🙂 ps: I wish my Mum would make me falafel! 😛 x

    Like

    • peanutbutterandellie says:

      Thanks!
      Those potato pancakes look SO GOOD. I’m for sure going to try them. I love that they can be made sweet or savory with toppings!
      Raw chocolate isn’t as good as regular chocolate though! I find it too bitter for me. 😦 My “trying to eat less chocolate” challenge isn’t really working out… today I ate a lot of chocolate. Haha.
      My mom is the best (but I’m biased). I’m going to miss her (and the fact that she makes me food) SO much when I go off to university!
      Thanks for the comment and for the potato pancake recipe! xx

      Liked by 1 person

      • Life Diet Health says:

        I used to be a chocoholic Ellie! and the first time I tried cacao nibs I almost sent them back as I thought they’d gone off! 😛 I love raw chocolate now – I guess it’s what you get used to! What are you hoping to study at uni? Will it be far from home (and Mums cooking)! xxx

        Liked by 1 person

      • peanutbutterandellie says:

        Hahaha that is so funny about the raw chocolate! I guess I’d have to get used to it… but I don’t want to eat raw chocolate to get used to it because I don’t love the taste! What raw chocolate do you like? Are there good raw chocolate bars?
        I am hoping to study food science, so I’d develop new (and safer, more economical, and more environmentally-friendly) food products. I applied to Cornell University and Michigan State University, but I’m not sure yet which one I will go to. Cornell is a 10 hour drive from home while MSU is an hour drive from home. You can actually read about my visit to Cornell here: https://peanutbutterandle.wordpress.com/2015/02/24/cornell-visit/ .
        I’ll let you know where I end up! I’ll know by May 1. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • Life Diet Health says:

        In the UK there are several companies which make raw chocolate and there is an absolutely amazing raw chocolate brownie (very expensive and hard to get hold of though). Some of the raw chocolate is very bitter and some is like eating coal 😛 but there are some good ones (any excuse to munch my way through more chocolate looking for the best)! Food science would be an amazing subject to study – I wish someone had told me how important it was to study science at school so I could have had different opportunities! Great post about your visit… make sure you keep me posted! x

        Liked by 1 person

      • peanutbutterandellie says:

        Thank you so much for your thorough comment! Ooh what is the raw chocolate brownie called and do they ship to the U.S.A!? Haha.
        I love science and food so food science just made sense to me! Thank you so much for reading and I will for sure keep you updated! xx

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Ellie says:

    I did Raw Till 4 for a month last June and it was ok but I definitely did not eat that many bananas! I just didn’t eat cooked food until dinner.
    All the meals your girls created look great! Keep up the good work 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

