Veggie Challenge Recap

It’s been a great past few weeks for veggie club!

It’s been a great past few weeks for me as well, minus preparing for my first semester exams next week. I think it’s a universal truth that studying is not the most enjoyable activity in the world. Personally, I’d rather be enjoying vegan food. Speaking of plant-based food, the veggie club enjoyed a lot of it together this past Wednesday at Marie Catrib’s, a local vegan-friendly restaurant with mouthwatering food and an eclectic atmosphere.

Here are some snapshots of the food and fun!

IMG_6516

I got the three salad sampler, a combination of three side salads. My FAVORITE. This time I tried the peanut noodles, the quinoa and black bean medley, and the roasted root vegetables.

100_6643

Nada’s grilled cheese + the incredible dessert case at Marie Catrib’s that features multiple vegan and gluten free sweets. 

We went out as a club because…

  1. it’s fun to get together as a club and get to know each other better
  2. we wanted to celebrate the successful completion of the veggie challenge, which ended last week.

The challenge went really well! Everyone seemed to enjoy trying a new style of eating, whether it was vegetarianism, veganism, or raw until four. I’m so proud of everyone who tried the challenge. Most people found it easier than they thought it would be! I don’t think anyone’s going to completely revamp their diet because of the challenge, but I do think participants are going to incorporate more plants into their meals which is marvelous. One less meat-filled meal equals one less animal slaughtered. YAY!

Here are some more pictures of veggie-filled food from the challenge.

IMG_6421

The yellow veggie curry dish from Erb Thai, an awesome local thai restaurant. 

I love avocado toast. I had it for lunch twice last week. 

I went to Marie Catrib’s again yesterday with my friend Emily. We actually met on Instagram a few weeks ago! She found my Instagram and then my blog, and reached out to me because she is also vegan and lives sort of near me! We decided to meet up for lunch. We sent pictures of ourselves to each other so we’d know what each other looked like and it ended up working really well. It was kind of strange and unconventional how it happened, but I’m really glad we met! I LOVE meeting other vegans my age, so if you are my age and live nearby, I’d love to meet up with you! Just don’t catfish me. 😉

IMG_6674I tried the “we got the beet” burger (cute name!). It was a delicious burger full of beets and topped with vegan coleslaw, baby kale, and spicy peanut sauce. I also need to mention that the service at Marie’s was fabulous. We had to wait about half an hour for a seat, but once we ordered, our food came out in five minutes flat. We sat at the cute little marble-topped counter.

FullSizeRender-1

Emily got the three salad sampler- YUM! Here’s a picture she took of her peanut noodles, beet and carrot salad, and curried rice. 

IMG_6690

Of course we had to get dessert! Emily and I both got a cupcake then split them. The two vegan flavors were double chocolate + chocolate with cherry almond frosting. The flavor combinations were delectable and the frostings were SO creamy. 

Another exciting thing that happened this week? The owner of a local vegan and gluten-free cookie company, Bit Baking Co., come in and spoke to the veggie club! A recap of his visit and a review of his cookies will be up on my blog tomorrow. Spoiler alert: the cookies are MAGNIFICENT.

Spoiler alert picture

IMG_6577

Happy Sunday!

xx Ellie

10 thoughts on “Veggie Challenge Recap

  1. Ellie says:

    It’s so cool that you were able to spark this movement at the age you are. I think you will be a great activist in the future. The meals look great! You’ve got me salivating 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

