Bit Baking Co. Cookie Review

As I said yesterday a few days ago (Sorry, exams got in the way of posting! Boo hoo!), today’s blog post is a review of Bit Baking Co. cookies.

IMG_6577

Bit Baking Co. peanut butter cookie that’s almost the size of my FACE! Also, don’t worry, the fur on my boots is faux.

Bit Baking Co. is a local vegan and gluten-free cookie company.

BIT-site-logo

I met JR, the owner, at a vegan pop-up bakery. I love his cookies, so I asked him to come in and speak to the veggie club at my school!

He came to our meeting after school this past Thursday with an armload of cookies and a smile on his face. We were the first people to try his smaller cookies (2.2 oz .vs. 3.2 oz), and they were INCREDIBLE. We got to sample chocolate chip, oatmeal raisin, double chocolate, and peanut butter chocolate chunk. All were great. However, I have a special spot in my stomach reserved for the double chocolate cookie.

Left: Veggie club members trying Bit cookies. Right: Bit’s peanut butter chocolate chip cookies.

Some of the best comments from veggie clubbers were…

  • “I can’t believe this cookie is vegan!”
  • “Best cookies ever!”
  • “These are awesome!”
  • “I love this [cookie]!”
IMG_4601

Bit peanut butter chocolate chip cookies.

I loved hearing JR speak because he was so interesting and passionate about his business! He shared with us how Bit Baking Co. started: he was developing gluten-free cookies for another company, but the company ended up using cheaper ingredients than JR wanted so JR created his own, healthier cookie. JR is also vegan, so he wanted his cookie to be vegan as well as gluten-free (*side note: here’s a long speech by Gary Yourofsky that JR said really influenced him to promote veganism*).

IMG_6529

JR speaking about his cookies!

JR has been working on Bit cookies for more than three years, and this time commitment is evident based on the high quality of the cookie. JR uses quality ingredients like date paste (it acts as a binder in the cookie instead of egg), cane sugar, and real vanilla. This cookie is way better for you than any other pre-made cookie you can buy at the grocery store!

The cookies are gluten free, vegan, soy free, and absolutely delicious. Everyone can enjoy a Bit cookie, no matter their allergies or taste preferences. Well, those with peanut allergies can’t have the peanut butter cookies, but that’s different.

IMG_6550

Bit’s oatmeal raisin cookie.

JR makes all the cookies by scratch in a small certified kitchen space. He bakes four times a week, and he does most of the baking all by himself! JR says he’s been lucky because his business has mostly spread through social media and word-of-mouth.

Screen Shot 2016-01-27 at 1.40.03 PM.png

VegNews, a popular vegan magazine, shared a picture of the cocoa chocolate chip cookie!!

The cookies are sold at all the health food stores in the area (such as Harvest Health and the Health Hut), as well as at seven D&W branches and online at BitBaking.com. Seriously, go try out a cookie or five because they rock.

Thank you so much to JR for creating such delightful dairy-free cookies and for coming in to speak to veggie club! We love your cookies!

IMG_6528

Some of the veggie club members with Bit cookies. There were 18 people at the meeting (some people, including a few guys, came later). 

xx Ellie

16 thoughts on “Bit Baking Co. Cookie Review

  1. Ellie says:

    That comment “I can’t believe these are vegan” is so OLD! I find that my best brownies (and the ones my coworkers like the most) are as good as they are because I use alternative ingredients to eggs, butter and milk.
    These cookies look great! I’m glad he’s had so much success.

    Like

  2. Natalie says:

    There is something about a giant cookie that makes me unbelievably happy! I love that first picture–giant cookie in the snow! This looks like such a fun time trying all the flavors, because I certainly would have a hard time picking just one they all sound SO good 😮 I love that Gary Yourofsky speech too, it is super inspirational, and while I’m open to all ways of sharing veganism, I think giant cookies will be very effective! Great review, and now I need a cookie 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • peanutbutterandellie says:

      Thank you so much, Natalie! I loved getting to try all the flavors, especially since it meant I got to eat a LOT of cookies (which is always a good thing). 😉
      I need to watch Gary’s speech today. I’ll let you know what I think!
      Giant cookies are definitely a great way to spread vegan love. Let’s make the world a better place through cookies! What is your favorite type of cookie?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Natalie says:

        Oooh yeah let me know if you watch it! I made my parents watch it too and even they liked it…but they’re still somehow not vegan ugh. Anyways, fave cookie hmm….well I’m actually one of those weirdos who would go for the oatmeal raisin probably haha! I love chocolate, but I prefer it in creamy forms rather than cookies. My favorite cookie of all time would have to be a ginger snap or ginger cookie of some sort though! Love the spiciness ❤

        Like

      • peanutbutterandellie says:

        My parents watched Food Inc. and they’re not vegan either. 😦 At least they watched it! And in my case, at least my parents are eating more vegan meals (at least while I’m home)!
        Ooh that’s unique that you like oatmeal raisin and ginger cookies the best- most people I know are classic chocolate chip cookie lovers (including myself)! Do you have a favorite ginger snap cookie recipe? My mom loves ginger so I’d love to make a vegan ginger cookie for her.
        I’m going to watch the video today since I’m home sick!

        Like

Leave a Reply

