“Nicecream For Breakfast” Ebook Review

Screen Shot 2016-03-18 at 11.08.28 PM.png

Nice Cream for Breakfast. How great does that sound?! This ebook shows you that it is totally okay to have nice cream (or other sweets) for breakfast.

It was created by my sweet friend Lara from Vanillacrunnch (who is from Switzerland- how cool is that!?). She used to eat like the majority of us: pints of dairy-filled ice cream, buttery cupcakes, and milk chocolate bars galore. That is, until she discovered banana ice cream. Banana “nice cream” (as it’s called by the majority of bloggers and Instagrammers) is frozen bananas blended up in a blender (with little to no liquid). It tastes like banana flavored ice cream. It’s so sweet and creamy. Lara loved nice cream from the moment it first entered her mouth (same girl!!) since it’s not only delicious but also nutritious!

My favorite “nice” cream: blended frozen bananas and peanut butter.

As Lara writes in her introduction, banana nice cream is great because bananas “contain lots of natural sugars, fiber, potassium and vitamins.” Add a little cacao powder to your nice cream and you have yourself a chocolate-y treat that is high in fiber and free from refined sugar and dairy. YUM.

Lara created this ebook to show that dessert can actually be good for you (when it’s made with the right ingredients). Her book is divided into six sections (not including the introduction): Raw Treats, Nicecream & Icecream, Baked Goods, Smoothies & Jars & Bowls, Puddings & Mousse, and Pancakes. There are 55 pages and 47 recipes. 

100_7265

Before we get any further into the review, I just wanted to let you know that you can get Lara’s ebook HERE. And guess what!? Lara rocks and is giving all of you 50% off her ebook so it is $2.50 instead of $4.99. A STEAL in my opinion! Just use the code “vanillacrunnch” at checkout.

100_7273

My Baking Bonanza: Lara’s chocolate vanilla swirl cupcakes along with her chocolate chip cookie dough bites (which I baked at 350 degrees F for 8 minutes). I also baked chocolate coconut cookies and peanut butter coconut cookies with recipes from my friend Demeter (The Beaming Baker) as well as my favorite banana bombs

For $2.50, GET THE BOOK. Seriously, that’s less than a coffee at Starbucks and you get wayyyyy more out of the ebook than the coffee. Lara has worked hard on it, as you can see from the beautiful photography and well-put-together recipes. Some of my favorite aspects of the ebook are…

  • The beautiful photography. There’s a nice picture for every single recipe, and all of the photos showcase the food very well. Seriously, Lara’s photos are photography #goals.
  • Most of the recipes contain simple ingredients that most people have like coconut milk, dates, cacao powder, and OREOS. Four recipes have Oreos in or on them.
    • However, there are recipes with ingredients that you might not have like rice malt syrup, hazelnuts, macadamia nuts, and açai powder. You can buy these ingredients on Amazon though. The Chocolate Tofu Cupcakes with Surprise Frosting (pg. 34) contain beetroot and cranberry powder in the frosting but I’m sure you can leave that out.
  • A lot of the recipes are simple but sweet, like peanut butter cups, bounty bars, and vegan Nutella so you can easily satisfy your sweet craving.
  • Almost all the recipes are VEGAN and GLUTEN-FREE (there is yogurt in the Seven Layer Power Breakfast (pg. 46) but you can just sub it for vegan yogurt).

The Raspberry Almond Smoothie topped with banana slices and Dark Chocolate Berry Granola

The only complaints I have about the ebook are a) that I wish the titles of each recipe were on the top of each page instead of the bottom so you automatically knew which recipe you were looking at and b) some typos (but I know sometimes those can’t be helped!). The pros most definitely outweigh the cons, though, and I am so impressed with Lara for creating an ebook as I can’t even imagine how much work it took!

IMG_8100

The Dark Chocolate Vegan Nutella (pg. 16). I didn’t like it much because I don’t like hazelnuts, but I thought I’d at least give it a try. If you like Nutella, you’ll probably like this spread! I wouldn’t know though because I don’t know what Nutella tastes like- I’ve never tasted it before (believe it or not)!

I sampled a diverse selection of her recipes (almost all of them actually!) so I could say with complete assurance that the whole ebook is good! The ebook is full of perfect healthier recipes for any meal of the day. 

My favorite recipes in the book are (in order of appearance)… Highlighted in blue are recipes you need to try ASAP.

  • Nut-Free Oreo Cheesecake (pg. 5). I really like Oreos so I loved this cheesecake (it was more like a pie, actually). The crust was AMAZEBALLS.
  • Chocolate Caramel Pretzel (Brownie) Bites (pg. 10). I loved the caramel in this recipe. I used almonds, and I didn’t put pretzels on top because I didn’t have any.
  • Raw Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups (pg. 11). They taste like Reese’s peanut butter cups but are wayyyy healthier! I loved them since I love chocolate and peanut butter.
  • Raspberry-Almond Smoothie (pg. 22). It’s super simple and yummy.
  • Dark Chocolate and Vanilla Marble Loaf Cake a.k.a. the recipe I am sharing with you today (pg. 30). I made them into cupcakes. They were sweet and good!
  • Classical Green Smoothie with Cranberries (pg. 37). I love green smoothies, and this one is no exception. I used almond milk instead of coconut milk.
  • Death by Chocolate smoothie (pg. 39). Bananas and chocolate- need I say more!? I didn’t get a picture of this one because it was gone (in my belly) like two minutes after I made it.
  • Sunday Oatmeal (pg. 42) minus açai because I didn’t have it. Like the chocolate smoothie, this oatmeal was gone before I could take a picture of it.

The Classical Green Smoothie with Cranberries (minus the toppings).

This ebook would be a good, cheap birthday or Easter/ post Lent present for someone to kickstart clean eating!

Today I am sharing with you one of Lara’s recipes- the “Dark Chocolate and Vanilla Marble Loaf Cake” – but made into cupcakes!

100_7248

Dark Chocolate and Vanilla Marble Loaf Cupcakes from the “Nicecream for Breakfast” ebook

by Lara Delilah of VanillaCrunnch

I made 8 cupcakes

  • 1 1/2 cup coconut flour (PB&E Note: I subbed homemade oat flour for the coconut flour and it worked fine!)
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup coconut sugar
  • 1/2 cup warm water
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 3 tbsp cacao powder
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F
  2. First, mix all the dry ingredients in a medium bowl except for the cacao powder.
  3. Add the liquid ingredients and mix until well combined.
  4. Depending on the brand of your coconut flour you might need to add more almond milk if too dry or more coconut flour if too liquid.
  5. Divide the dough in 2 separate parts, and mix the cacao powder in one of them
  6. Randomly pour in the two doughs alternately in an oiled cake tin lined cupcake tins. Bake for about 40-45 20-25 minutes and wait for your personal marbled cupcakes to come out of the oven.
  7. I topped my cupcakes with a chocolate ganache I made by melting 1/4 cup chocolate chips with a splash of almond milk in the microwave for 30 seconds. Then I mixed the ganache together until it was smooth and spooned it onto the cupcakes. Mmm.

100_7235

Whew, that was a long post. Thanks for reading, and make sure to snag a copy of Lara’s ebook and check out her blog and her incredible Instagram!!

Here’s to the weekend! Make it a great one!

xx Ellie

 

8 thoughts on ““Nicecream For Breakfast” Ebook Review

  1. Ellie says:

    I love nice cream except I never make it for breakfast because I don’t want to turn on loud appliances in the morning (to wake up my roommate or because I don’t like loud noises in the AM). Everything looks great though! How can you go wrong with Oreos?!

    Liked by 1 person

    • peanutbutterandellie says:

      Nice cream rocks! Bummer about the appliance situation (but totally understandable). My family and I all wake up around the same time so it’s okay with them that I have the blender running at 7 AM. 🙂
      Thanks, Ellie! Everything is better with Oreos!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

