Super Six Sunday 5/29/16

Super Six Sunday… since it’s not Friday so I can’t really do a “Fab Five Friday.” This way you get a BONUS thing! 

What’s up people!?!??! It’s been a bit. But guess what!? I JUST GRADUATED HIGH SCHOOL ON THURSDAY (3 days ago)! Wahooooo! My last day was Tuesday, then Wednesday was the senior breakfast, then Thursday night was the graduation ceremony. I’ve been pretty silent because I’ve been finishing up school. I’ve also been busy with high school varsity tennis since we’re getting ready to play in the state tournament this coming weekend!

100_4047.JPG

I’m back now with lots of time on my hands to work on the bloggy! Here are my plans for the blog for this summer:

  • to move my blog from http://www.peanutbutterandle.wordpress.com to a self-hosted site, hopefully http://www.peanutbutterandellie.com! A self-hosted site would make it easier for people to find my blog. It’d make it so anyone could comment on my blog, without needing a WordPress account first like they do now. Lastly, a self-hosted site would allow me to monetize my blog through ads.
  • to post an original recipe AT LEAST once a week.
  • to post once or twice a week at least. I’ll hopefully post one recipe on Monday or Tuesday, then a “Fab Five Friday” or a list of some sort on Friday.
  • to continue to improve my photography skills
  • to become better at the techy aspects of blogging, such as coding and using photo-editing software.

So those are my goals! Get ready for Peanut Butter & Ellie 2.0! 

Below are other things that I’m excited about or that I’ve been loving this past month. Enjoyyyy and let me know what your favorite things are this month!

  1. Graduating high school

You knew this was going to be my #1 as soon as I said I graduated. I can’t believe that I’m a high school graduate. I knew I would be one someday… I just can’t believe that “someday” is NOW! Time flew. I must have been having fun. 😉

The actual graduation ceremony was nice- below are some pictures from it. I actually spoke a little bit at graduation which was pretty cool! After graduation, the seniors were shipped off to a “secret location,” which turned out to be a summer camp, for a full night of good clean partying. We ate good food such as fruit and snow cones, we went rock climbing, we sang karaoke, we ran around, and we watched a hypnotist (which was way cooler and funnier than I expected). The party went from 9 pm until 5:30 AM, after a sunrise breakfast (with nothing I could eat 😦 ). It was a fun party, and a good way to end the school year. I was pooped when it was over, though.

I’m so thankful for my GOOD high school experience. I got lucky. Sure, there are things I wish I’d done differently, but all in all it was a memorable and rewarding four years. I’m especially thankful for the high school tennis team and the veggie club I started my junior year. I’ve connected with a lot of cool people in “real” life as well as online through my blog, and I wish I’d connected with even MORE people! I guess that’s what college is for! By the way, I am lucky enough to be able to attend university this coming fall! I will be attending Michigan State University… and I am INCREDIBLY PUMPED! I have a sweet roommate, we know where we’re living, I have dorm room bedding… it’s going to be great!

IMG_9033

2. This cute “vegan” baseball tee from BEET X BEET

All I can say is that it is so cute and that I love the message it spreads! I am going to get one.

women_meow_front_grande-1

3. These Donuts

…which are coming to the blog on Thursday for the monthly “Peanut Butter Bash!” I haven’t done this virtual peanut butter party in a while, but I was able to bake something for it this month since I now have some time on my hands! The theme is peanut butter and yogurt. Get ready for my sweet creation!

4. Graduation Parties… and grad party food.

My weekends have been filled with my fellow classmates’ graduation parties. It’s fun to see people outside of school to catch up, and the parties typically have great food! Yesterday I went to Erin and Savy’s party, two of my friends from school who are VEGAN! Erin went vegan about a week ago and I’m so proud of her! Their party was full of FABULOUS vegan food catered by my favorite restaurant EVER, Marie Catrib’s. I feasted on lentils and rice, a chili-lime quinoa + black bean salad, special seasoned potatoes, vegan jalepeño mac n’ cheese, and fruit. Best grad party food I’ve had so far. I also went to another friend’s party last night that had vegan chocolate cake! YAY for more people becoming vegan in my town and therefore more vegan options!

IMG_0076

IMG_0065

5. The Great British Bake Off (British show on Netflix)

I just started watching this a few days ago, and even though I’m only a couple episodes in… I love it! Twelve home bakers compete to be the next “great” British baker. They have three baking challenges to complete each week, and each week someone is eliminated. It’s sort of like Cupcake Wars except you get to know each competitor better since they are on week after week instead of on just one episode, and the judges are more helpful and personable on “Bakeoff.” Each episode is an hour long, so get your popcorn ready!

the_great_british_bake_off_title

6.  Peanut butter oat banana cookies from my friend at Life Diet Health

IMG_0068

Laurena’s were more like little muffins, but I made them into cookies so they were more portable. 😉 There are only three ingredients in them so they’re super easy to make! And they’re yummy! And healthy. Basically, there’s no excuse not to make them! They have three of my favorite foods in them: oats, banana, and peanut butter. 😍 I also topped them with a chocolate drizzle because why not? The drizzle was a 1/4 cup of Ghiradelli semisweet chocolate chips and a splash of almond milk microwaved for 30 seconds and then stirred together.

Recipe (since the original is in grams and idk the equivalent to those in cups even after looking them up online!):

  • 1 ripe banana
  • 1/3 cup peanut butter (or another nut butter)
  • 1 and 1/4 cup oats

Mix the banana. Add in the peanut butter (or another nut butter) and mix. Add in the oats and mix. Shape them into little balls and flatten them out a little bit. Bake at 350 degrees F for 8 minutes. Makes 9 little balls of yum.

**If you want a more chocolatey version of these, look at my three ingredient chewy chocolate cookie recipe from last year HERE. It’s very similar to this recipe.

IMG_0070.jpg

So now that you know what’s up with me, I want to know what’s up with YOU! Leave me a comment and let me know how the month of May has been for you.

Talk soon!

xx Ellie

23 thoughts on “Super Six Sunday 5/29/16

  1. Natalie says:

    Congrats girly!! And you were even brave enough to speak at graduation too 😮 I am so excited about all your blog plans for the summer, you need your own self-hosted site to better present all the peanut-buttery creations you make to the world!

    Liked by 1 person

    • peanutbutterandellie says:

      Haha I was there for a good hour and ate A LOT of food! I’m making five vegan desserts for my grad party and I can’t wait. 🙂
      Thank you so much, Ellie! I was sad after I didn’t get into Cornell (for regular decision), but I also realized that I probably wouldn’t have loved it any way. I think MSU is a much better fit for me, so I’m really happy I’m going there!

      Like

      • peanutbutterandellie says:

        Also for some reason I wasn’t following your blog but still getting your posts?? I followed again because I love hearing about your yummy food concoctions and crazy running training!!

        Like

  2. superfitbabe says:

    Congratulations on your graduation! Mine was last Saturday so just around the same time! 😀 It’s really exciting what plans you have for your blog, and I am looking forward to seeing it grow! And I’m now going to join the Peanut Butter Bash with all of the other bloggers! I cannot wait to start cooking with my favorite ingredient!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Life Diet Health says:

    Ooo Thanks Ellie 🙂 I see little bites of deliciousness there! 🙂 Well done on your graduation and I hope you still have time to blog when you’re at uni! 🙂 How delicious to have lots of vegan food around especially at parties – I think I need to move away from all the meat munchers! 😛 Loving the doughnuts – my son would love those! 🙂 xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

