Rhuberry Muffins

Happy Wednesday! How are you? What are you up to?

100_8736

I’m back at my cottage (aka my home for the summer) after a five day trip to Chicago, USA this past week! I went to Lollapalooza, a huge four day music festival in one of the Chicago parks, and it was tiring but fun. 🙂 I was excited because I got to see some of my favorite artists there, as well as discover new rocking artists. My favorite performances were Oh Wonder, Halsey, the 1975, Melanie Martinez, Years & Years, and Ellie Goulding. OH MY GOSH guys I’m obsessed with Ellie Goulding now- she is so great, especially live! Please give her a listen. Oh Wonder too- I love them so so much.

Has anyone else ever been to Lollapalooza (or another music festival)? This was my first music festival, but hopefully I will go to more as I love music!

You know what else I love? Muffins!

rhuberry muffins2

100_8514.jpgThese rhubarb and berry-filled muffins are a great way to use all the fresh produce here, since it’s the end of raspberry and rhubarb season and the beginning of blueberry season.

Believe it or not, this was the first time I’ve ever used rhubarb. I didn’t even TRY rhubarb until this summer, when my grandma made my family and I a rhubarb crumble. It was very tart- way more so than I was expecting! Because of rhubarb’s tartness, I decided to pair it with sweet (but also sometimes tart) raspberries and blueberries in this recipe. It took a few tries to get the right berries-to-flour ratio, but eventually these muffins were perfected!100_8752100_8760I like these muffins because they are fruity, but they have a little zing to them thanks to the fresh ginger and other spices. Give them a try and let me know what you think! Tag me on Instagram @peanutbutterandle or twitter @peanutbuttereli if you make them.

I have much more to share about my time in Chicago- a post will be up later this week about it! Talk soon! Until then, eat muffins. 🙂

xx Ellie

100_8756100_8713

Rhuberry Muffins

(Rhubarb Raspberry Blueberry Muffins)

Makes 12 muffins

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups oat flour (to make: process an overflowing 2 cups of oats in a food processor for a minute, or until it turns into a fine flour)
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 ½ tsp fresh ginger, grated
  • ½ tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup applesauce
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup (or 2 more heaping tablespoons of brown sugar)
  • 1/3 cup chopped rhubarb
  • 1/4 an overflowing cup of blueberries
  • 1/4 an overflowing cup of raspberries

For the crumb topping: mix together 1/4 cup rolled oats and 1 tbsp brown sugar, then sprinkle a handful of topping over each muffin before you put the muffins in the oven.

Instructions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Rinse blueberries, raspberries and rhubarb stems.
  3. Peel the outer layer (strings) off of the rhubarb stems, then cut stems it into ½ inch cubes. Now set aside all the fruit.
  4. In a medium-size bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients (flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, ginger, and nutmeg).
  5. Add in the wet ingredients (vanilla, applesauce, and maple syrup).
  6. Whisk to combine the wet and dry ingredients.
  7. Fold in the fruits.
  8. Line a muffin tin with muffin liners. Scoop batter into tins so they are 3/4 full.
  9. Sprinkle the crumb topping onto the muffins, if desired. I like it because it adds a nice crunch.
  10. Bake the muffins in the oven for about 20 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean when inserted into the center of the muffins.
  11. Let cool for a few minutes, then enjoy! They only last for a few days, so eat them quickly! Or freeze them for later.

100_8700

8 thoughts on “Rhuberry Muffins

  1. Ellie says:

    Wow these muffins are perfect for the 4th of July! I used up the last of my blueberries today making a blueberry chia seed jam, but I assume blackberries would work as well?
    Can’t wait to hear about your trip!

    Liked by 1 person

    • peanutbutterandellie says:

      Thanks Ellie!
      Omg these muffins really would work well for 4th of July, color-wise and flavor-wise. Thanks for the suggestion!
      Blackberries should work. The muffins may be a bit more tart so you might want to add a bit more sugar… let me know if you try it! I’ll have to try these with different fruits- I bet strawberries would also be good in these.
      Thanks for reading! xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

