Fab Five Friday 8/12/16

Happy Friday!

Can you believe it’s already the weekend? I can’t! I also can’t believe it’s already August and that I’m leaving for my first year of college in a few short weeks (!!!). Where has the summer gone?

This week, I went home for a few days after being “up north” for the entire summer. Now I’m back up north though. I guess I couldn’t stay away. 😉 While I was home, I finished a great TV series, went out to breakfast, and did a yoga class for possibly the first time all summer (oops). What were the highlights of your week?

1. VEGAN GRILLED CHEESE

IMG_3220If you don’t follow me on Instagram, you missed my mini freak-out yesterday over having a vegan grilled cheese for the first time EVER. It was also the first grilled cheese I’ve had in like 5 years. It was super creamy and good. 

I put a few handfuls of  vegan mozzarella cheese shreds between two slices of fresh sourdough bread (from a local bakery) and cooked it on a panini maker for a few minutes. Then I added in some greens and a sliced tomato I picked (from the hydroponic tomato greenhouse where I work). Finally, I snapped a picture or five for Instagram and devoured my sandwich of cheesy goodness. 

2. The Vegan Calculator 

This site calculates how many animal lives you’ve saved by being vegan. It determines everything based on the number of months/ years you’ve been vegan. I’m not sure how accurate this calculator is, but it does show that one person makes a difference in conserving the word.

Here are my statistics:

Screen Shot 2016-08-12 at 6.41.06 PM

3. Going out to breakfast, specifically at Bartertown Diner

I went out to breakfast this morning to a local diner with vegan friends (Hi Savy and Emily!!). I ordered the ultimate hash- it came with a mixture of potatoes, veggies, and Nutcase Vegan Meat chorizo covered by a sunny sauce and a side of toast and homemade jam. NOM.

IMG_3246

Do you ever go out to breakfast? Do you have a favorite breakfast food? I love waffles. And french toast. And smoothies. Really, I’m not picky as long as the food is vegan (which is a bit of an oxymoron).

4. Gilmore Girls

gilmoregirls

image via Collider.com 

I finally finished all seven seasons of the hit TV series “Gilmore Girls” on Netflix. I started the series last August and finished it a few days ago. I really like it. The plot was a bit unrealistic at times, but that’s okay because it’s funny, lighthearted, and the relationships in it between the different characters are realistic. The series f0llows single mom Lorelai Gilmore and her teenage daughter Rory as Rory grows up in the fictional town of Stars Hollow. I recommend “Gilmore Girls” if you need a new series to watch- just beware of the time commitment! There are 7 seasons, each with 22 forty-five minute long episodes. Now is the time to watch it though as the four episode series wrap-up is coming out November 25 on Netflix.

I need a NEW series to watch now that I’m done with this one!! Any suggestions? 

5. The Summer Olympics

1391572147_olympic-rings

image via Wikipedia.org

How could this once-every-four-years competition NOT make my list!? I love watching the Olympics, especially the gymnastics and the beach volleyball. It’s amazing to watch how strong some people are!!

So that’s it, folks! Have a fun weekend and make sure to watch the Olympics since another one won’t come around for two more years. I’ll talk to you all soon. 🙂

xx Ellie

 

11 thoughts on “Fab Five Friday 8/12/16

  1. Life Diet Health says:

    OMGosh Ellie… Have you not had any vegan grilled cheese or is this just in a toasted sandwich?😐 I made myself a quick pizza this week with delicious cashew cheese. 😊The other day I made a toasted melty soya cheese sandwich in my machine. We always have nachos with hot cashew cheese sauce… I’m sure you’ve done that, yes?¿? Oh and olympics. .. gymnastics, swimming, diving, heptathlon and dressage so far👍Much more to see! ☺

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

