Summer Snapshots

100_8654.jpg

Guess what!? Today was my FIRST DAY of SCHOOL! And not just any school… college! I am attending Michigan State University this fall as a freshman.

I moved in this past Sunday, and have been getting settled in and ready for classes since. I’ve also been making friends of course! It’s strange being at college. Even though I went to two classes this morning, it still feels like summer… like I’m just at camp or orientation and will be home next week. But now “home” is university! I have a dorm room. I have a room mate (her name is Emma and she is super sweet!). I have a meal plan!Β Which means I don’t get to cook or bake my own foodΒ anymore, which is kind of strange. Some dorms have kitchens though, so I think I’ll have to find a friend in one of those dorms to bake with since I don’t have a kitchen in mine. πŸ˜‰

Anyway, college is very different but pretty good so far. I felt kind ofΒ out of place the first night I moved in but it’s gotten better every day. Have you been to college before? If so, where and how was it??

Even though my school has started, it’s still TECHNICALLY summer so I though that today I’d share some snapshots from earlier in the summer with you. They relate to a recipe that I’ll be sharing on the blog this weekend. Key word: LAVENDER.Β 100_8647.jpgAt the end of July, my mom and I decided to take a mother/ daughter road trip to Brys Estate and their “Secret Garden,” aka a lavender and blueberry farm. It was a nice secluded location in the ring finger peninsula of MichiganΒ (see map).


We walked around lavender fields, picked blueberries, and enjoyed refreshments– lavender lemon ice cream for my mom and lavender lemonade for me. It was a pleasant afternoon with my favorite person!

Here are the “summer snapshots” of the trip. Enjoy!100_8516

100_8531100_8621100_8657Above are pictures of some of the plants sold at the farm, as well of pictures of the lavender field. 100_8550.jpgWe packed a lunch of peanut butter &jELLIE to enjoy at one of the property’s many picnic tables.

You could cut your own lavender! We didn’t- we just enjoyed looking at it.

From top left, clockwise: 1) the inside of the secret garden’s store (white building in the third picture). 2 ) & 3) the store was stocked with goodies made from blueberry and lavender from the farm, likeΒ laundry satchels (2),Β lavender s’mores bundles, and blueberry jam (3). We bought some cooking lavender. 4) The store had specialty ice cream, made in northern Michigan, with their products in it. The lemon lavender ice cream my mom got had Secret Garden lavender in it!

IMG_2079

IMG_0443.jpg

Above, enjoying lavender lemonade from the shop.

100_8634

My mom and I each picked a quart of beautiful blueberries- YUM!

100_8603100_8652.jpgCute quotes marked the ends of each lavender row. I loved them, especially this quote!100_8659100_8532An impromptu little photo shoot between the lavender rows with my mom! Miss you, momma!


I hope you have a wonderful end of the summer! If you are in school, or are teaching school, have you started? If not, when do you start back up again? See you this weekend for a lil’ lavender recipe! πŸ™‚

xx Ellie

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Summer Snapshots

  1. superfitbabe says:

    CONGRATULATIONS ELLIE! Best of luck to you on your college journey. Yay Food Science buddy!
    I am so envious of your massive influx of lavender exposure–it’s my favorite plant, ever! So beautiful, romantic and fragrant!

    Liked by 1 person

    • peanutbutterandellie says:

      Thank you so much, Cassie! Can you believe we’re in college!? I can’t believe it sometimes. I was with some high school friends today and introduced them to others by saying, “These are my friends from high school.” It sounded so weird- I felt so old!!
      Are you taking any food science classes right now?
      Lavender is one of my favorite plants, too! It’s so wonderfully fragrant. xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

