Fab Five Friday 9/30/16

friday.jpg

We made it! It’s finally Friday!

How has your week been? Mine has been a struggle bus, but I made it without dying (barely). I’ve been feeling under the weather since last week Wednesday- I’ve developed a bad cold, just like about half the other students on my campus. I guess Mother Nature decided that once fall started it was time to send in the cold winds and torrential downpours, both of which helped contribute to the spread of the common cold version of the plague on campus.

If you’re feeling sick too, I sincerely hope you feel better and drinks lots of water and tea. Speaking of tea, number one on my fab five list is…

1. Trader Joe’s Spiced Chai tea

A.k.a. the main thing that has been getting me through the week! I’m not exaggerating when I tell you that I’ve had five to seven cups of tea a day for the past four days. It helps me feel better so I figure I might as well load up on it! TJ’s chai is the best chai tea I’ve ever had (wayyyyy better than Tazo), and this is definitely my new favorite tea. It’s spicy and cinnamony and oh-so-good. My favorite way to enjoy it is in my giant MSU spartan mug with a 1:4 ratio of soy milk and hot water.

Before I came to college, I drank tea, but not that often and only chai. Now I drink it religiously! Green, chai, black, herbal… you name it and I’ll drink it. I like trying all the varieties the dining hall offers.

DSC_0015.jpg

2. Pretzel Bark Thins

Thank you to my grandma for introducing me to Bark Thins! They’re dark chocolate slabs mixed in with pretzels– what more could you want in a snack? They have other delightful flavors like chocolate almond, chocolate peanut, and chocolate pumpkin seed. I highly recommend these! You can find them at most grocery stores, as well as at CVS.

DSC_0020.jpg

3. Dining Hall Food

The food at my college is actually pretty good! I’ve been enjoying all different types of food in the dining halls, from oatmeal (with peanut butter and banana) to salads to hummus and pita bread with tabbouleh to roasted veggies and rice to soup GALORE. My lunch on Wednesday was especially good- vegan chili with french fries (chili fries!!), hummus, carrots, and steamed broccoli & cauliflower. img_4563

Another day I had a veggie peanut wrap, side salad, and herby potato pancake that was unique but really good.

screen-shot-2016-09-29-at-11-40-47-pm

4. This Pumpkin Bread

one-bowl-gluten-free-vegan-pumpkin-bread-v-gf-df-4

It’s vegan, gluten free, and looks fantastic. I know it has to be good since my friend Demeter spent six trials perfecting it! I highly recommend checking out this bread and Demeter’s site in general, Beaming Baker. Her recipes are good, her photography is incredible, and the stories she includes in each post are so entertaining. I can’t wait to make this pumpkin bread with my mom when I come home from college for the weekend next week!

5. Acro Yoga

I joined the acro yoga club at my school, and it’s challenging but so fun! For those who don’t know, acro yoga is basically yoga with a partner. You do poses together, most of which involve balancing (here are pictures of me doing it in Guatemala this past spring). The club meets every Sunday outside in a field for two hours to practice, from 2-4 PM.

14291871_1226529824053503_6307596092233569847_n.jpg

Here’s some of the acro yoga squad doing “throne” pose. I’m the third to the right (in the navy tank top), just chilling on my friend’s feet.

That’s what I’ve been loving lately! What about you? Favorite tea lately? Favorite snack? Let me know!

Have a safe and fun weekend! I’ll be back on Sunday with a fall cookie recipe. 🙂

Screen Shot 2016-09-30 at 12.38.30 AM.png

2 thoughts on “Fab Five Friday 9/30/16

    • peanutbutterandellie says:

      Yes it must be right if they do it! Haha. What is your favorite type of tea?
      I have, actually! I’ve met like four other vegan girls in classes and such. One wanted to give me a coupon she got for free ice cream and I was like, “Thanks but I’m vegan” and she was like, “No way, I am too!” There’s also a veggie club on campus apparently, but I can’t find any information about it. 😦

      Like

Leave a Reply

