Snickerdoodles (v + gf)

 

When I was 14, I had my first love (Justin Bieber, anyone?)

You see, I tried a snickerdoodle for the first time when I was 14. It was love at first bite, even though it didn’t have ANY chocolate in it! It was sweet, had a soft fluffiness, and an aromatic cinnamon and vanilla combination. It was a cookie that deserved to be loved.

Not so long ago, I was craving Snickerdoodles. So, like any logical person, I searched through my array of cookbooks for a vegan snickerdoodle recipe. I found one in Let Them Eat Vegan, a cookbook by Dreena Burton. They sounded delicious, but they weren’t gluten-free. I wanted to make them gluten-free because I was making them for my tennis team and one of the girls on the team is gluten-free. She’s also my doubles partner, so together we make up the crazy vegan / gluten-free doubles team!

P1250041

I followed the basics of Dreena’s recipe, but tweaked it by adding gluten-free oat flour to make it gluten-free, as well as adding more cinnamon. They were sweet and delicious! I hope you make them and love them as much as my tennis team and I did!

Snickerdoodles

vegan and gluten-free

adapted from the “Snifferdoodles” recipe in Let Them Eat Vegan, by Dreena Burton

makes 16 cookies

  • 1 cup gluten free oat flour (I made my own by pulsing 1 cup of gluten free oats in the food processor until they became flour) (oat flour can be subbed for regular gluten free flour or whole wheat flour, but I prefer the oat flour)
  • 1/3 cup raw sugar (cane or coconut sugar)
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 3 tablespoons oil (I used a mixture of vegetable and coconut)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Whisk together the dry ingredients in a bowl. Combine the maple syrup, vanilla, and oil in a separate bowl. Add the wet mixture to the dry mixture and whisk until combined. Cover the mixture and put it in the fridge for 5 minutes. Roll a ½ tablespoon or so of dough into a ball and place on the cookie sheet. Repeat until you run out of room on the baking sheet or all the dough is gone. Do not flatten the cookies, because they will flatten naturally in the oven. Bake the cookies for 10 minutes, or until they are golden-brown. Let them cool for a few minutes, then ENJOY!

xx Ellie

P.s. – What is your favorite type of cookie? I love snickerdoodles, but I also love chocolate chip cookies and these hippie cookies. Give me a cookie and I will be happy!

8 thoughts on “Snickerdoodles (v + gf)

  1. Ellie says:

    Yum these look great! My favorite cookies (at the moment) are Chocolate Dragons. Basically a chocolate cookie with chocolate chips rolled in sugar. I also have gone through an Oreo phase and a no bake chickpea cookie dough phase. I have a lot of phases lol

    Like

Leave a comment