Week-Long Vegan Challenge

The veggie club at my school is doing a week-long vegan (or vegetarian) challenge starting this Friday (January 8). I put together a little “meal plan” for them. It has vegan breakfast, lunch, and dinner ideas.

I’m putting this challenge on my blog so, if you want, you can try it with the veggie club. If you’re not vegan but want to try veganism, try becoming vegan (and using this meal plan) for a week and see how it goes! At the end of one week, stick with being vegan if you like it. Try out this meal plan if you’re already vegan but want to eat healthier as this plan is full of healthier meal options with more whole foods than processed or “fake” foods. I’m already vegan, but I’m going to do this week-long challenge as a way to “get back to my vegan roots.”

vegans_o_280209

Here is some inspiration / vegan humor for you via the internet.

This plan is super customizable as I listed many options (and recipes!) for each meal so you can make this challenge as healthy or unhealthy as you want. Like you COULD just survive on vegan desserts but I wouldn’t recommend it as it’s not considered “healthy” and you’d probably feel like a fat lard by the end of the week. You can also eat as much or as little food as you want, but I recommend eating three meals a day plus snacks.

I’m just going to warn you ahead of time that being vegan might take up more time than you’re used to for making food. Before I became vegan, my mom cooked meals for the whole family so I didn’t spend very much time making food. Since I became vegan, I’ve learned how to make my own meals and I spend a lot more time creating in the kitchen (but who am I kidding, my mom still cooks for me a LOT). Being vegan might mean more work in the meal department because you’ll be cooking your own meals instead of relying on pre-packaged meals from “grab and go” restaurants. However, the extra time and energy you spend creating vegan food is so worth it! The food you’ll make will be delicious and it will probably leave you feeling better after you eat it than the food you might be eating right now.

Now that we have that introduction and disclaimer out of the way, let’s get to the fun part: FOOD!

***HERE is a sample vegan meal plan for you. It’s a PDF file so download it by clicking on the link. Use it or create your own plan with the options below.***

BREAKFAST

Ideas for the “most important meal of the day” include…

 For breakfast, PICK AN OPTION AND STICK WITH IT OR MIX IT UP AND TRY AN OPTION A DAY.

From left to right: Peanut Butter Smoothie, Peanut Butter Muffins, and Chia Seed Pudding (can you tell I like peanut butter!?)

LUNCH

First of all, HERE is an awesome guide to vegan shopping in Grand Rapids (where I live- don’t stalk me). It will help you find ALL THE VEGAN FOOD in GR! You’ll want to stock up on fruit, veggies, potatoes, grains, beans, nuts, nut butter, non-dairy milk, vegan cheese, tofu, and vegan margarine. You also might want to buy flaxseed meal as flaxseed and water bind to create an “egg” for baking.

Ideas for the midday meal include…

  • Peanut butter and jelly sandwich: A simple but sweet lunch option. Just make sure the bread you use is vegan. Most bread is vegan, but check the ingredient list to make sure!
  • Vegetable stir-fry with hummus
  • Quesadilla using vegan cheese or hummus as a binder instead of cheese: My favorite vegan cheese is the “mozzarella” from Trader Joe’s but other vegan cheeses you can buy locally are “Daiya” and “Follow Your Heart” (found at D&W).
  • “Tuna” sandwich: for the vegan mayo in this recipe, you can make your own [with this recipe or this recipe] or buy some. Meijer carries Just Mayo and the Knapp’s Corner D&W carries Veganaise.
  • Chips and guacamole
  • A tofu scramble can be eaten for breakfast, lunch, or dinner (recipes HERE and HERE).
  • Soup (like THIS squash bisque, THIS chili, THIS black bean chili, or THIS sweet potato soup). I’d make the soups ahead of time if I were you.
  • Salad (such as THIS one)
  • Grilled Cheese (with vegan cheese)

Like breakfast, you can switch up what you eat for lunch or keep it the same every day. It’s totally up to you!

100_4882 100_4849

Two lunch ideas: Quesadillas and Vegetable Stir-Frys

Healthy Snacks

100_4212

Fruit is a great healthy snack.

DINNER

Most of these recipes make multiple servings so you can always make one recipe and eat leftovers for a few days afterward. If you don’t have time to make dinner, or you just don’t feel like making food, you can click on THIS LINK for a list of restaurants in GR that serve great vegan options.

You can also find some really delicious recipes by searching “vegan dinner recipes” the Internet. My go-to blogs for meal recipes are Minimalist Baker, Oh She Glows, Pumpkin and Peanut Butter, Post Punk Kitchen, and The Happy Herbivore.

100_3444 100_4999

Two easy dinners: Butternut Squash Bisque and Vibrant Penne Pasta.

Desserts

Screen Shot 2015-03-04 at 6.30.31 PM

More resources for you:

  1. HERE is a week-long meal plan created by The Happy Herbivore
  2. HERE is a detox guide with recipes created by Minimalist Baker
  3. HERE is a 2 day “reset” meal plan created by Oh She Glows
  4. HERE is a 2 week long meal plan put together by PETA. It features more processed, “fake” food (like fake meats and cheeses)
  5. “What I Eat in a Day” might help you with your day-by-day eating plan.

Good luck!

Feel free to reach out to me through email (peanutbutterandle@gmail.com) or by Instagram with any questions/ comments/ concerns about the challenge.

-Ellie

20 thoughts on “Week-Long Vegan Challenge

  1. Life Diet Health says:

    Wow Ellie what a comprehensive post! 🙂 Great for Veganuary too! Several similar recipes to my blog although I favour oats, bananas, tofu and chickpeas 🙂 Hopefully this will encourage lots of healthier eating… and more ice cream for breakfast eaters! 😛 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ellie says:

    This is such a great resource! Oh She Glows is my favorite recipe website. She has wonderful and easy recipes. The oatmeal power bowl is a staple and so customizable. I used to think I needed an oatmeal recipe for it to taste good. Now I just throw everybody in the pool and enjoy it. Perfect for any meal

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment